Ethereum is on a wild ride

LONDON — Digital currency Ethereum‘s volatility continues.

The cryptocurrency, the second most popular after bitcoin, fell 25% against the dollar across Monday and Tuesday. The price stabilised in early trade on Wednesday before rallying above $200 again.

Ethereum is dipping again on Thursday morning, down almost 5% to $212.22 at 7.57 a.m. BST (2.57 a.m. ET):ethereum

The choppy trade follows a 5,000% price rise for the digital currency since the start of the year. Mati Greenspan, an analysts with trading platform eToro, told Business Insider earlier this week recent falls are a price correction that has been “a long time coming.”

Meanwhile, bitcoin, which has also fallen over the past week, is stable. The digital currency is up 0.01% against the dollar at 8.07 a.m. BST (3.07 a.m. ET).

bitcoin

Join the conversation about this story »

NOW WATCH: A $16B hedge fund CIO explains what it takes to work at a hedge fund today


Related Blogs

    Share this:
    Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

    Speak Your Mind

    *